Why I Put Butter in My Coffee

If you’d have asked me before I switched over to a LCHF diet to put butter in my coffee, I’d have slapped you in the face with a trout. Then, out of guilt, I would have fetched an ice pack for you & probably would have taken you out to Starbucks, but still, a fish whipping would’ve been necessary for asking me to do such nonsense.

While at Barnes & Noble with my teen Geologist-to-Be, I was wandering the diet book section, as one often does after feeling guilty and eating their weight in Christmas cookies & Mom’s cheeseball, and I stumbled upon “The Bulletproof Diet” by Dave Asprey. I read the description, put it down, and then picked up a Low-Carb cookbook. Then, before leaving the area, I picked it back up and decided to buy it. I’m glad I did because it was an interesting read. I re-read the description.

The author, Dave Asprey, used to weigh over 300 pounds. He was a Silicon Valley millionaire. (See? We already have SO much in common!) <—I kid.

Anyway, while still overweight, he was exercising like a madman, watching his calorie count, doing everything the rest of us try to do to lose weight, and failing miserably. So, he decided to “bio-hack” his life by running expensive tests, putting electrodes onto his head, and taking a battery of various other tests, to find out why his brain was running slower than usual. While on expedition in the Himalayas, he found his own personal Yoda–a little woman who served him tea with Yak butter. (Stay with me, here!) He discovered that if he drank this protein and fat-rich drink, he stayed full, was more focused, and didn’t struggle like the others in the high altitude.

Upon returning home, he tried a ton of different butters and found that grass-fed worked the best to keep him focused and satisfied. He tried different teas, but couldn’t find one he liked, so he decided to try it with coffee. Then, winner winner, chicken dinner, he found the perfect drink to keep him full and get his brain going. He also added MCT Oil to his coffee for an extra bit of fat. (He sells his own blend of MCT Oil and Coffee on his website.)

You see, fat is not the enemy. Re-read that, write it down, and repeat to yourself every day. Fat. Is. Not. The. Enemy. It is an ally. A very good ally. Fat will fill you up, give you energy, and never let you down. Do your research. Read Dave Asprey’s book, but also look at others. I will list the others that I’ve read/am reading in a later post if you’d like. I’ll make a list to help newbies.

All in all, it was a really informative book. He tells you what foods will really turn your body into a fat-burning machine. I’m not going to go through the entire diet, you’ll have to pick up a copy of his book and read it. I do recommend adding this book to your home library. Oh, and I’m not reviewing this book for any sort of monetary gain. I bought the book and the ingredients for the Bulletproof Coffee on my own.

Now, onto Bulletproof Coffee, or BCP, as the keto community refers to it…

Here’s a video with Dave Asprey, the author of “The Bulletproof Diet,” where he makes Bulletproof Coffee. If you just type his name into YouTube, there are a ton of interviews with him. He lost an impressive amount of weight and looks amazing. It’s worth a gander.

This is what goes into MY own concoction of Bulletproof Coffee. Dave Asprey sells Bulletproof Coffee via his website, but it’s expensive. I’m not a Silicon Valley multi-millionaire, but a housewife in the North Carolina mountains, so I need to watch my pennies.

img_1723

Duchess Von Fancy Pants’ Delicious BCP Coffee

1 T. MCT Oil (I really like the one by Sports Research)

1 T. Sugar-free Salted Caramel Syrup (Jordan’s Skinny Gourmet)

1 Packet of Stevia (you can find this at Whole Foods or any health food store)

1 Newman’s Own Special Blend Coffee (I use K-Cups & buy them in bulk)

1 T. of Amish Butter (try to find grass-fed butter; in the book, Asprey recommends Kerry Gold unsalted butter)

Put everything but the coffee into the blender to begin with. Then, put in 8 oz. of HOT coffee. It will help melt the butter. Blend on high until you get a great froth going & pour into a cup. Then, I add a dash of cinnamon on top. It’s so delicious and  yummy.  I drink it around 7:30 in the morning and it keeps me full until around 1 or 2 o’clock in the afternoon. It gives me energy & I truly feel amazing. Thank you, Dave Asprey.

Now, I belong to a keto group on Facebook, and some of the ladies add eggs to their BCP. I am not one of those. First, I think I’d throw it up. I hate eggs with the passion of a thousand suns. We can discuss how I do a LCHF diet without eggs in a later post if you’d like, and it’s not as difficult as you’d think.

So, that’s about it. This is my new morning go-to drink. I’ve been doing LCHF for just over a week and am down 5.2 pounds. Not too shabby.

Oh, and I’m listening to a lot of Shakira today. Have you seen her old video with Alejandro Sanz? No? Get thee immediately to YouTube and watch it NOW. I’d chop onions and tomatoes in my kitchen with him any day.  And watch Shakira belly dance. Her hips don’t lie that’s for sure.

Cheers,

Duchess VFP

Leave a Reply

